TO: NAN First Nations and Tribal Councils
DATE: June 25, 2018
RE: Update on NAN Election
FROM: Travis Boissoneau, Chief Administrative Officer
CC: NAN Executive Council

This is to update you that Ms. Jocelyn Formsma has assumed the responsibilities as Chief Electoral Officer effective June 13, 2018.

Ms. Formsma was appointed by the NAN Chiefs Finance Committee and will serve as Chief Electoral Officer for the NAN Election on August 15 during the XXXVII Keewaywin Conference to be held August 14, 15 & 16, 2018 in the traditional territory of Chapleau Cree First Nation.

In accordance with NAN Election procedures, the Chief Electoral Officer will oversee all aspects of the election process and will deal with any and all issues during the campaign period and election process. She will remain in office for two weeks following the election.

As promised, we are pleased to provide the following information on the nomination process:

  • The Chief Electoral Officer will accept candidate nominations until Sunday, July 15, at 11:59 p.m. by fax at (807-625-4649) and/or by courier, mail, and personal delivery to the NAN Administrative Office (710 Victoria Avenue East, Thunder Bay, Ontario). Nominations will not be accepted if sent by electronic means (e.g. by email or otherwise).
  • NOTE: NAN offices are closed Saturday, July 14, and Sunday, July 15. Nominations sent by courier or personal delivery must be received at the NAN Administrative Office by Friday, July 13, at 4:59 p.m.
  • All nominations shall be supported by and signed by two (2) NAN Chiefs (1 nominator/mover and 1 seconder).
  • A list of candidates will be released no later than July 22, 2018. The official campaign period will commence once the final list of candidates is released and cease on August 14, 2018 at 11:59 p.m.

Information of the election process, election code and nomination forms are available on the NAN Election website at www.nanelection.ca.

If you have any questions or require further information, please feel free to contact me at 1-800-465-9952 or via email tboissoneau@nan.on.ca

Chief Electoral Officer Jocelyn Formsma can be contacted at 1-613-864-7033 or via email at NANElectionOfficer2018@gmail.com


Download Notice